Big Ash Big Lent

EB gets ashesme: How was your day EB did you go to church and get your ashes?
EB: What are you blind, man? Don’t you see me wearing this humongous cross on my forehead? I think the priest got carried away, you know the big tall one with the big hands. He just smeared it on.
me: Wow, that is a rather large cross on your forehead.
EB: Yeah, I guess he saw me coming, nice white rabbit, a perfect canvas for his ash fingerpainting.
me: It’s not fingerpainting EB. Do you know what it means?
EB: Yeah, it means that I will wearing this thing for a month, its so big. I hope it comes off without the doctor having to amputate.
me: Your exaggerating, you wont need your head amputated.
EB: I never exaggerate. The priest that this to me, I think he’s the one prone to exaggerating.
me: EB, the ashes are a reminder that we come from ash and when we die we will return to ash. It’s a reminder of our mortality.
EB: Yeah, but it’s also a reminder that I look ridiculous.
me: You’re just upset because you got the biggest set of ashes in the entire church.
EB: I’m looking forward to my bunny bath this evening.
me: So, Did you give anything up for Lent?
EB: Yeah, I’m giving up having ashes smeared on my forehead.
me: No, I’m serious, are you doing anything special for Lent?
EB: I’ll probably just try to be a better bunny.
me: How?
EB: Not let things upset me so easily and maybe spend less time watching Judge Judy.
me: You can also do something like helping others that are less fortunate. It’s not just about giving something up.
EB: Hmm, maybe you’re right. Do you need anything? Is there something I can help you with?
me: As a matter of fact there is.
EB: OK – spill it.
me: Well, I really could use help in spreading the word about my new book “A Rabbit’s Tale An Easter Story” so folks will find out about it and can then to to Amazon and get a copy.http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BEIQYPC
EB: I’ll do my best to help spread the word, no problem. I’ll start a countdown tomorrow and remind my fans that pick up a copy.
me: Thanks EB, I’d never thought the Easter Bunny would be helping me get folks to read my book.
EB: Well, I did read it and it was pretty good.
me: I thought you hated it.
EB: No, I just hated that it wasn’t about me. But,  I’m over it. I’ll get started tomorrow with my campaign to help you. That will be what I do for Lent.
me: Thanks EB
EB: De nada.

2 thoughts on “Big Ash Big Lent

Add yours

  1. My sympathies to EB. I also got a jumbo-size cross on Ash Wednesday this year! I guesss my pastor made up too much ash and wanted to use it all up! Oh, and thanks for liking “Book Glutton” at lanasingstheblues!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

